South Africa Denies Nigeria Visa-free Status

Ghana is the latest country to be granted a visa-free status by the South African government.

Department of Home Affairs of South Africa’s has added Ghana to a list of seven countries that are permitted to enter South Africa without visa

Nigeria was not included despite the large volume of trade between the two countries.

South Africa announced in September 2018, that it was finalizing a number of visa waiver agreements with other countries including Ghana to allow travelers to enter the country without a visa.

According to the Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, citizens of the seven countries are able to enter South Africa without a visa.

“Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation,” 

he said today at a briefing in South Africa.

“Out of the 193 countries who are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries. Of these 16 are in our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world.”

READ ALSO:  Shocking: Woman narrates how she and her daughter had kids for the same man

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.